Friday, August 18, 2017

An Epic Fantasy Must-Read

29960675Title: Mask of Shadows
Author: Linsey Miller
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date; August 29, 2017

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.
Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class-and the nobles who destroyed their home.
When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand-the Queen's personal assassins, named after the rings she wears-Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.
But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

what i liked
  • The worldbuilding is amazing. Miller created a world that is a cross between Game of Thrones and Throne of Glass. I loved it. There's fighting to the death, there's a world ravaged by war, and there's a group of people vying to be the next Opal for the Queen. Plus, there's assassins. What's not to love?
  • Sal was lovely. I've not read many YA books with a gender-fluid character, and for those I have, they were all in contemporary novels. That's what makes Sal awesome--they is a main protagonist in a fantasy novel. 
  • The suspense in this novel kept me reading. It's been a long time since a book has kept me up late at night, and this book is the exception. I literally had to take a nap in order to make up for all the sleep I felt I lost during the night, which never happens!

what i disliked
  • Literally nothing!! Besides the fact that now I have to wait awhile for the next book, of course...

overall
Mask of Shadows is great for readers looking for a new epic fantasy to delve into.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Paper Princess | Review

28678119Title: Paper Princess
Author: Erin Watt
Release Date: April 4, 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Purchased

From strip clubs, and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.
These Royals will ruin you...
Ella Harper is a survivor-a pragmatic optimist. She's spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she'll climb out of the gutter. And her mother's death, Ella is truly alone.
Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.
Reed doesn't want her. He says she doesn't belong with the Royals.
He might be right.
Wealth. Excess. Deception. It's like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she's going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she'll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

 Now honestly, when I first saw this book, I expected it to be some royalty book and after writing this post I realize I should've read the freaking synopsis. Anyway, I had originally found out about this book from a YouTuber, I don't really remember who. But it was a trusted BookTuber that I avidly watch, so I thought why the hell not, I should give this book a try.

I was completely taken aback by this book. I don't want to go into too much detail, but basically every single review on Goodreads talks about what I had issues with. I don't feel the need to completely repeat myself. But at parts this book was utterly repulsive, yet I couldn't stop reading just because I wanted to know what was happening.

Give this book a read if you want, but I don't think you'd be missing out if you decided to skip out on this one.


Friday, August 11, 2017

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell | Review

23734628
Title: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Genre: Fantasy

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who's ever been chosen.
That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right.
Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here, it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.
Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story-but far, far more monsters.

So, after finishing Fangirl a few years ago, I knew that I'd have to read Carry On at some point. I mean, come on, that book was literally amazing and I had to know what the huge fuss was about Simon Snow. It may have taken me a few years, but I finally read Carry On and I have to say that it was quite the experience. Plus, there was a shit ton of feels.

First of all, I absolutely loved Simon Snow. I mean, sure, he's got a lot of the same qualities as Harry Potter, but he's just so different at the same time, and that's what makes him awesome. Plus, there's Baz, who I also loved. Then there's Baz and Simon, together, which I loved even more.

I remember when this book first came out, I had heard quite a bit about it being way too similar to Harry Potter and that's why it got some negative reviews. In my opinion, personally, you have to read this as an addition to Fangirl and fully know that yeah, there are gonna be similarities, but that doesn't mean that it's the same story. This one was really different, and there were a crap ton of adventures all in one book versus the one adventure per story in Harry Potter. There are also completely different characters and issues.

I really don't want to explain too much because I don't want to ruin the whole story for you, but honestly, even if you haven't read Fangirl, I suggest giving this one a try. As soon as I finished it, I knew that it was one I'd never forget. Plus, that ending was crazy.

I kinda wish that Rowell would write more about Simon and his adventures in the future.